“Too Close” and “Treading Water”- Alex Clare

Although Internet Explorer is the slowest internet browser on the face of the planet (or at least in my experience), it has done one thing right recently. It ran a commercial with great music. Music that I wasn’t aware existed until a few months ago and now am in love with. More specifically, the music of Alex Clare, a British musician that released his first demo this past June.

If you have watched TV or TV shows on the internet recently, you have heard bits and pieces of his song “Too Close” in Explorer’s attempt to remarked themselves as a “more beautiful web,” what ever that means. But I advise listening to the whole song. The build-up from a very soulful sound to the drop is amazing. Plus the video is great, although not seemingly related to the theme of the song, which is friendship that became a little too much. If you have any ideas about how the video fits with this theme, please share!

My favorite song of Clare’s though is “Treading Water.” Like one of my other favorite songs at the moment (“Somebody That I Used to Know” by Gotye–hopefully a post on that in a few days), the song to me is about someone that is still hung up on his last relationship and thus is failing in his present relationship. Although I can’t really relate to this message, the imagery in the video and Clare’s voice are so powerful that I can’t help but love it.

Interestingly, Clare used to date the late Amy Winehouse. I think it is a travesty that they never made any music together because they both have these rich voices perfect for soul/R&B that I think would work perfectly together.

So thank you Internet Explorer for surprisingly doing something right. And although IE9 might be better than IE8, I stick with Firefox or Chrome.

ll

2 Comments

Filed under Alex Clare, Amy Winehouse, Dub-Step, R&B, Soul

2 responses to ““Too Close” and “Treading Water”- Alex Clare

  1. Never heard these songs or the musician before so thanks for sharing. My favourite song of the last 12 months is Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used to Know”.

  2. Lexi

    His “Relax My Beloved” is sexy as hell and “Up All Night” is some awesome –driving too fast/shakin’ my butt in my seat– music. Actually Shazamed “Too Close” at a CPK about a year ago and have been in love ever since. So, I feel you on this one. ;D

Leave a Reply

