Father’s Day!

Okay so it is actually not Father’s Day, yet. But I mentioned my Dad in the Cake post so I wanted to dedicate today’s post to him.

When I was younger, my father was probably the person that had the most influence on my music preference. Music was one of the many ways my father and I connected whether when we were driving to a swim meet with Stevie Ray Vaughan blasting through the truck’s speakers, taking a road trip to the Southwest while only playing to U2, or listening to Shawn Colvin in the living room (first on his shoulders while he twirled me around and  then when I was older sitting with him on the comfy couch) He has actually taken me to all of the concerts I have attended including U2 and Coldplay. And guess what? I had an amazing time at all of them, mostly because he was there to share the music with me. He also has an extensive CD collection that I have “borrowed” and  an amazing speaker/sound system that I love to listen to when I go home.

Although my music tastes have changed over the year (my dad would never willingly listen to Lady Gaga, Black Eyed Peas, Nine Inch Nails, or Skinny Puppy), we still share a love of many artists. And these songs that we listened to together so many times can instantly bring me back to those moments. Whenever I hear Shawn Colvin’s “Sunny Came Home,” I can remember walking in the door on a Friday night, exhausted from the week, and having my dad preparing fish sandwiches (one of my favorites) and playing this song to usher me home. When I hear U2’s “Pride (In the Name of Love),” I can hear him explaining the serious meaning behind the lyrics. And when I listen to Enya’s “In Memory of Trees,” I picture us gathered on the floor playing a heated game of rummy. These are only a sample of songs that bring back vivid memories of my father. I wish I could share them all because they make up such a rich history of my life. However, I would probably bore everyone to death. So I will leave you with a song dedicated to my wonderful father.

I know this song is about losing a father and mine is still very much alive but I do not see him nearly enough and miss him so much.

 

I love you Dadders.

ll

Leave a comment

Filed under "Oldies", Family

Leave a Reply

