“Suicide Alley”-Shawn Colvin

Shawn Colvin is one of the artists my father introduced me to when I was very young. I didn’t really know what the songs were about but I fell in love with her beautiful voice. As an young adult now, those songs not only remind me of my childhood but also have meaning behind the alluring vocals.

As Stunning As Her Voice

“Suicide Alley” is one of her songs that seems to be based on my life, or at least my struggles. Shawn Colvin, like me, struggles with depression. To me, this songs speaks of her battle against this devastating illness. She talks about feeling like a “loose cannon” and having damage running loose in her head, feelings I shared intimately. But she overcomes these feelings, or at least the impulse to walk down suicide alley. She has a “place in this world of mine”. When I have a truly bad day, I listen to this song on occasion to just remind myself that yes, other people do feel the same why as I do sometimes. Sometimes,the world seems too much for you. But there is always tomorrow. There is always people to help. There is always something to look forward to.

Sorry for the weird music video, it was the only one that I found on you tube with this song.

As a side note, I was/am obsessed with Shawn Colvin’s album covers. Check these out.

Loved the Locket

My Favorite

Do you have any music that you listen to cheer up after a bad day?

ll

1 Comment

Filed under "Oldies", Folk

One response to ““Suicide Alley”-Shawn Colvin

  1. Frank Stevens

    I like what you have posted and agree with your interpretation of the song. I have depression too and have been hospitalized for it once.
    frankstevens_62@hotmail.com if you’d like to talk.

Leave a Reply

