“The Nobodies”- Marilyn Manson

Now Alenka over at Six Thousand Songs (see blogroll, I can’t seem to link in a post, anyone have advice?) has featured Marilyn Manson in her posts before but I will beat her to featuring this controversial artist. Just so you know, I like Marilyn Manson. His music, his message (sometimes), even his antics. He knows he is entertaining people not only with his music but with his presence. Like Lady Gaga, their is no Brian Hugh Warner anymore. There is only Marilyn. And he is smart. Yes, I was shocked when I first saw him in “Bowling for Columbine.” His line about music as an only escape growing up really resonated with me. And when he says, “I wouldn’t say a single word to them. I would listen to what they had to say. And that’s what no one did,” I gained so much respect for him.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-1300960753461206002

Unfortunately, I didn’t start listening to his music until a year ago. True, some of his songs I dislike but their are many I listen to very often. Some people say he is too aggressive and advocates violence, suicide, drug use, sex and other such “unfavorable” behaviors. But how is he so much different than the female pop artists like Rhianna who talk about their S&M tendencies? And also, don’t tell me that her video isn’t extremely weird/overtly advocating sex and drug use.

Why I like Marilyn Manson is because he is different, he has real (political, religious, ethical) meaning behind his songs. Sure, some are really loud and obnoxious but others are the perfect mix of angry, guttural vocals and amazing drums, guitar, synth etc. One such song is “The Nobodies” which was based on the Columbine events, fear tactics of the news, and a little religion thrown in for the hell of it. From the beginning electrical piano solo to the screaming “we are the nobodies, want to be somebody,” I love it. Plus the music video is sick. So creative and dark and interesting.

And even though some people think he looks extremely weird, he is strangely very sexy.

What are your feelings on Marilyn Manson? Love him, hate him, never hear of him (I don’t know how this one could be possible)?

ll

4 Comments

Filed under Shock Rock

4 responses to ““The Nobodies”- Marilyn Manson

  1. Alenka

    In the box where you edit posts, there’s buttons on the blue part on top, right? Next to the left/right/center alignment buttons is a button with a little picture of a chain, and next to it is a broken chain. If you highlight a piece of text and click the chain you can insert a link, and the broken chain breaks the link.

  2. As I said on Alenka’s post on Six Thousand Songs mentioning Manson, I do think his songs have a sexual quality, and I agree that he does convey a sexy presence. I like what you have said, comparing him to Rihanna, because I agree that he isn’t that “controversial” when you compare him to something like S&M which is “more mainstream” or whatever. I look forward to reading more of your comments on music!

Leave a Reply

