“All I Want Is You”- U2 and me being an Optimist?

I mentioned in my father’s day post that my dad took me to a U2 concert as a “present” for surviving my first year of high school (trust me, it was a lot harder than it sounds. The girls at my school put “Mean Girls” to shame). It was an amazing concert. Seeing Bono in real life for the first time, a person I look up to not only for creating amazing music but also for his philanthropy efforts, literally made me breathless. The Edge also did a great job performing a solo vocal/piano number but I can’t remember what song. I know, I’m getting old. 21.5 years old tomorrow.

Have no fear, a half birthday celebration does not equal only 1/2 a beer.

All aging aside, I still can remember how much I love U2. They have such an extensive discography with different musical styles to fit any mood. The album Rattle and Hum though is there best album, in my humble opinion. Each song is more amazing than the last and I have listened to the album straight through five bajillion times (rough estimate of course). One of my favorites though is “All I Want Is You.” I have all the words memorized and sing it often in the shower but nothing compares to the beautiful voice of Bono. I don’t know how to even describe it. It is gruff, soft, smooth, piercing, loving and overall so passionate. I truly think that this is one of the best love songs I have ever heard. He is offering unconditional love, no matter if trivial promises are kept or broken. We are only human, we make mistakes. But true, unconditional love can and does still exist in this world. You just have to find it.

However, some people interpret it as a song of infatuation and lust. And the video sort of supports this, but I am going to keep being optimistic and romantic, two traits I very rarely possess. I normally see that beer as half empty, but oh well.

I should also say that the Edge does an great job on the guitar in this song, well any song really. I will be sure to feature him more in a future post.

ll

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Rock, U2

2 responses to ““All I Want Is You”- U2 and me being an Optimist?

  1. Pingback: You too :P « Smokebear

Leave a Reply

