“Zuviel Liebe Killt Mich”- Alex and Y-Ass and Me Returning to my German Roots

I know I already posted today, but I decided I needed another one since I have this song stuck in my head and it is beautiful. And you might be thinking, how can she have it in her head, isn’t it in German?” Even though I am a solid 1/2 to 3/4 German, I don’t speak the language at all besides Guten Tag and Gesundheit, which means health. Who knew! Well, all the German- speaker know… and anyone who looked it up on wikipedia. Okay, probably everyone knew it besides me but whatever. Back to this amazing song.

I was introduced to Alex and Y-Ass by a friend just this weekend on a sleepover. Yes, I am a cool college student who has sleep-overs. Although I couldn’t understand the words, I was immediately drawn to Yasmin K’s (Y-Ass) voice. Who ever says German cannot be a beautiful language has to listen to her sing.

I think the nurse's uniform is a play on "Doktorspiele," one of their songs that I will feature in a future post.

I immediately looked up the words to this song, probably my favorite since one of my best friends (who speaks German) was singing it to me all night. So here are the lyrics to the newest song that is playing on repeat on my iPod.

Too much love Kills me

My heart is Trembling, the soul is burning
I curse you every moment
You dive into my life
Should it be Love?

Our feeling too Intense
I immediately knew, What goes wrong
Because love comes, Love goes
for us it is already too late.

Too much love kills me
Too much Feeling, i cannot bear
Too much love kills me
So much pain is not for me
I recognize I am not myself.
Too much love kills me.

I Can’t see you more today
I need you to go out of the way
I have adored you like an idiot
Now my love is dead

From the beginning we were quite clear
How hopeless it was with us
Feelings come, Love goes
for us it is already too late

God knows how long you heart still loves.

Too much love kills me
Too much Feeling, i cannot bear
Too much love kills me
So much pain is not for me
I recognize I am not myself.
Too much love kills me.

You kill me…
You kill me…

God knows how long you heart still loves.

Too much love kills me

Too much Feeling, i cannot bear
Too much love kills me
So much pain is not for me
I recognize I am not myself.
Too much love kills me.

Do you have any favorite songs in a language you cannot speak?

PS. This one is for you MC

ll

Leave a comment

Filed under German, Pop

Leave a Reply

