“Smells Like Teen Spirit”-Nirvana and Flannel Shirts

Before I jump into the featured song, I wanted to say that I added a new page to the blog. Basically it is record of all the posts I have done, in alphabetical order because I am a little OCD and because when I was younger I really wanted to be a librarian. This career desire morphed into a halloween costume consisting of a long navy skirt, a blouse, coke bottle glasses, and my hair in a bun. Yeah, a librarian and not the sexy one like in Tina Fey can pull off so well.Tina Fey

Anyways, I realized while I was drinking Starbucks and listening to Nirvana, Modest Mouse, Heart, Soundgarden, and Pearl Jam all at the same time the other day that a lot of good things come out of Seattle. Okay, I was actually only listening to Nirvana because the mash-up of those groups would probably cause me to go deaf. But I do like them all and, more importantly, they do all come from Seattle. The band I am most familiar is Nirvana, the “starter” band of the grunge trend. What makes grunge music you ask? I have no fucking idea. I think (aka wiki tells me) it has something to do with fuzzy background noise, being really angry, and wearing flannel?

Curt Cobain-Lead singer of Nirvana

I just I don’t understand how grunge is associated with flannel. In Minnesota, we just wear it when we ice fish, chop down trees, wrestle bears, or when it is cold (so all the time).

Minnesota girl

I think the most famous grunge song people think of is “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana. With the fuzzy background, the guttural almost incomprehensible words that Curt Cobain screams, and the flannel shirts worn by some of the band members in the video, it has it all.

The video was actually named the best music video of all time by MTV and we all know that MTV knows their shit when it comes to music since they air it 24/7 on their channel. I don’t get the huge appeal. Yeah, its an epic rock concert that corrupts the minds of the kids in the audience, but there are some amazing videos out there that put this one to shame.

Have any insights to the deeper meaning of the video? And outside of wearing flannel shirts to grunge concerts, when do you like to wear them? 

Mary Kate apparently loves to wear them while cuddling her dog and drinking beer.

ll

4 Comments

Filed under Grunge, Rock

4 responses to ““Smells Like Teen Spirit”-Nirvana and Flannel Shirts

  1. Alenka

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen you wear flannel… are you sure you’re from Minnesota?

Leave a Reply

