“The Drowning”- How To Destroy Angels

When I first started this blog, I made a promise to myself that I would not repeat an artist/group until I had done 50 posts (okay it was originally going to be 100 but I knew I couldn’t make it there). I knew it was going to be hard since there are some groups I literally cannot go two days without listening to. But if Alenka over at Six Thousand Songs can listen to her whole iPod without repeating a song, I can feature 50 without group repeats. The featured song of today is the closest I have come to repeating because How to Destroy Angels (HTDA) was started by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails (previously featured), his wife Mariqueen Maandig from West Indie Girl, and Atticus Ross. I decided it was not cheating since it is a totally new group. If you have problems with that, too bad.

Trent, Mariqueen, and Atticus

I was super excited about hearing new stuff from Trent since his last projects, Ghost and The Slip, were not up to NIN’s normal quality. However upon hearing the first song on the EP, I realized that the star vocalist was Maandig and not my beloved Trent. Oh, how can he produce music and not use his deep, beautiful, perfect voice? I mean, it is even hard for me to follow interviews with him since I just focus on his voice and not the actual words. Sadly, every song featured Maandig and when Trent sang, I could barely hear him through the background noise.

Now, I am not saying I don’t like HTDA. It is interesting and a good start to a promising group. You can tell that they are still experimenting since the whole EP doesn’t really have a theme and Trent’s work always has an overarching theme. I mean, The Downward Spiral is the quintessential concept album. I have yet to find an album that flows together so well both thematically and musically.

The Downward Spiral Album Cover. Love Love Love Love Love

Getting back to HTDA, I like probably half of their songs on the EP and listen to those fairly regularly. I have been really into “The Drowning” the past few days, probably because I can relate to it a bit since I am feeling so overwhelmed with life lately. The song is a tad repetitive and some of the background noises are jarring but hopefully HTDA can overcome those problems and create some good music. And while I am hoping, I would love NIN to go on tour again. I would pay almost anything to see Trent live.

Has a group you loved stopped playing/producing music? 

ll

2 Comments

Filed under Experimental, How To Destroy Angels

2 responses to ““The Drowning”- How To Destroy Angels

  1. Alenka

    Sorry to comment on an old post, but I’m listening to The Downward Spiral right now. Reznor’s voice is so amazing… the way he whispers and then layers all this sound makes the music seem like subliminal messaging, or like I’m going crazy. It’s so intense!

    • OMG, OMG, OMG. I am so jealous right now. I agree with everything you said. And it totally is about going crazy. The “narrator” starts with hating himself, wanting to escape using drugs, alcohol, sex etc and just goes into this “downward spiral.” I won’t say too much because I think I am going to do a week of just featuring songs from that album so that I can explain the beauty (and the ugliness), the creativity, araw emotion Trent somehow perfectly portrays. ❤

Leave a Reply

