“Turn Me Up”- Benassi Bros and Hello My Name is Charlotte and I am a Nerd.

I like love club music. Maybe it comes from my love of dancing, my obsession with feeling the bass throughout my body, or the memories I associate with club music. Whatever the reason, I know I didn’t get enough of it this weekend. Normally, my friends and I find somewhere to dance whether at a club or at someone’s room/house during the weekend. But unfortunately that didn’t happen.

So in honor of it being Monday, I thought I would feature one of my favorite dance songs that probably will never be played in a club because it is not really well-known. Its sort of underground so you might not know about it (okay, end of me being a hipster). Also, it is one of my favorite work-out songs because, like so many club songs, it has a great driving beat.

Benassi Bros, a Italian dance group with two cousins as the sole members (don’t ask why they are called Bros), started off as dee-jays and then started recording and producing music for other groups. My favorite song of theirs is “Turn Me Up.” It starts with over a minute of driving bass, adding in scratchy synth, a main repeating rhythm , and more and more. I can just imagine dancing in the club, the music getting louder and louder, the tension building… and then the lyrics. This happens a few times throughout the song. And yes, it is kind of repetitive, but that is what club music is. Plus, if I was the dee-jay at a party, I would totally mix this song with some of my other Benassi Bros favorites like “Don’t Touch Too Much,” “Blackbird,” and “Illusion.” Check them out.

So yeah, love it or don’t. Which ever way you swing, I will now be commencing a lab dance party. Yes, this is what I do when I am waiting for my cell to transform and my DNA to digest– have dance parties by myself. I am a nerd.

Okay, maybe I am not as much of a nerd as Sheldon Cooper from Big Bang Theory... but close.

Are you a nerd? Divulge the nerdiest thing you have ever done!! Solo-dance parties don’t even graze the surface of my nerdiness so don’t worry, I have tons more geeky stories to tell. 

ll

2 Comments

Filed under Club, Techno

2 responses to ““Turn Me Up”- Benassi Bros and Hello My Name is Charlotte and I am a Nerd.

  1. Haha, I am SUCH a nerd. I read newspapers for fun and I get excited about school. But I’m not a geek/nerd in that because I wasn’t born in the U.S., I don’t have any knowledge or experience in the decades stuff. But hey, invite me over to that dance party and it’ll at least be a dual party!

Leave a Reply

