“Nights In White Satin”- The Moody Blues and I Am Home!

I am home (if that wasn’t apparent from the title)! My research program ended, I turned in my paper, and everything is good… except that I am taking the MCAT in a week 😦 But I am HOME! With my dog! Lets focus on that.

This is the adorable face that greeted me when I arrived home ❤

Also, this is the song that greeted me when I walked in the door.

Thanks Dad.

When I listened to this on You Tube with the music video, I came across a great comment:

Imagine if some artist or band tried to get a song like this released TODAY…?
Producer: It’s not commercial enough! Not enough swearing… say “Mother-f*****’ more! You know… like “Mother-f******s in … white satin… shit… whatever…” Oh, and it doesn’t have a proper drum track. More doof doof! There’s no references to ho’s, pimps, ice, how corrupt the Man is… how you have to kill to survive… that sort of thing. Geez, guys, get with it!

“Nights in White Satin” and all of The Moody Blues music does not fit the “current definition” of music today. Or rather the current mainstream music. I feel like there is tons of music like this being performed but the general public has limited access to it. I don’t know how to get a wider variety of great music to the people, since radio stations only play about 15 top songs on any given day it seems. Hopefully this time of music doesn’t die out. Hopefully my generation can appreciate not only the good popular music but also the oldies and “alternative” music of today.

Do you listen to radio at all? Are you as pissed off at the small music selection they play? Or is it just because I am in a smaller city that the selection sucks?

ll

3 Comments

Filed under "Oldies", Blues, Family, The Moody Blues

3 responses to ““Nights In White Satin”- The Moody Blues and I Am Home!

  1. I’m pissed off at Glee, because it used to be good at showcasing off the beat music, but now they are using mostly mainstream music. It’s really hard to break into creative industries these days.

    • Yeah, Glee has been annoying me a little lately. I don’t know what I think about them making original music. I like them covering not well-know music so I can “discover” more amazing artists.

  2. Alenka

    Two years ago I worked in a bakery over the summer, and one of my supervisors controlled the radio. We listened to the same country station all day, and heard the same songs over and over again. Last year, when I worked for City Parks, my boss controlled the radio and we listened the same rock station all the time. It rotated about eight songs over and over, all day.

    Popular radio stations just SUCK.

Leave a Reply

