“Summer of 69”- Bryan Adams

Today is the last day of the summer for me. Classes start at 8 am sharp tomorrow. Am I looking forward to it? Yes and no. I like my classes this semester and my friends are in many with me but it is going to be a tough fe months. You have probably noticed my slowing of posts in the past few days since I have been super busy. Unfortunately, it is not going to get any better. I will try to post at least 2-3 times per week but no guarantees.

Anyways, I wanted to feature the song that instantly reminds me of summer. It takes a little explaining to do. When I was younger, my cousins would stay at our house for the whole three months and babysit my brother and me. And every summer, we would pick out a “summer song.” We of course had multiple summer songs but “Summer of ’69” was by far the most memorable. My brother and I would sing and strum (air guitar) along with this song almost daily. Hey, we were 7 and 10 respectively. We thought we were so cool.

Needless to say I didn’t know the sexual connotation of the title nor did my cousin tell my brother and I, so we probably got strange looks from adults when we sang it in public (similar to my brother singing Johnny Cash). However, the song still reminds to me of seemingly endless summers filled with friends, lounging around, and just having a good time. Although my summer was not filled with lounging, I had a great time with my friends and have many memories I will cherish. Good bye summer; I will miss you.

What was your favorite thing you did this summer? Meeting new friends? Having a fling? Doing nothing (which is sometimes sooooo nice)?

ll

Leave a comment

Filed under "Oldies", Bryan Adams, Rock

Leave a Reply

