Movie Series #2: “Dissolved Girl”-Massive Attack

Massive Attack has subtly been a part of my life for awhile but it wasn’t until this year that I became aware of their greatest. From being the theme song for House to being featured in one of my favorite movies of all time, The Matrix, Massive Attack sneakily came into my life. Now it is literally a group that I listen to at least weekly and know most of their songs by heart.

“Dissolved Girl,” among the best song ever in my opinion, is actually the song featured in The Matrix for a short time. Here is the clip:

Doesn’t that make you just want to watch the movie (again)? I just had a Matrix Trilogy Marathon and still want to watch them again.

It really surprises me how many people, even avid Massive Attack fans, do not know about this song, or at least appreciate it. The beautiful vocals of Sarah Jay mingle with the dark, techno backdrop. And that build up halfway through the song… I get chills every time.

The video to this is actually a fan- compiled video using clips from Immortal (Ad Vitam), a movie I haven’t but want to watch. But in the spirit of the post I thought I would include it. I think it really fits the music.

Ever watched The Matrix and/or the whole trilogy? Ever had a movie marathon?

Leave a comment

Filed under Massive Attack, Trip Hop

Leave a Reply

