Movie Series #4: “My Beloved Monster”- Eels

Comedies normally don’t have the reputation of having good music on their soundtracks. I mean, when I think of good soundtracks I think about Moulin Rouge, The Social Network, West Side Story, or even Slumdog Millionaire. But I was surprised when I revised the music to a great comedy from my childhood…Shrek! Yeah, I know what you are thinking. How in the world can a movie about an ogre, a talking donkey, and various fairy tale creatures have good music? Trust me, Dreamworks managed to make a hilarious movie with fun, eclectic music. They got some pretty famous groups to agree to be on the soundtrack too: Smash Mouth, The Proclaimers, Rufus Wainwright… and that is just the first movie.

It was hard for me to pick just one so I might post another song from the second soundtrack tomorrow. But from the first movie, I fell in love with “My Beloved Monster” by the Eels, a 90’s rock band. Here is the version from the soundtrack…

And here is a cool string version I found from one of their 1995 tours…

Both are great but extremely different. Actually, every single video I found of the song was sung differently. I normally don’t like this since I get attached to the first version I hear, but in this case each version of the song was interesting and great in its own way.

Did you watch Shrek when you were a kid and/or a kid at heart?

The whole series was a big deal with my family, and we went to every movie in theaters (though the later ones are definitely not as good as the first). My father, who normally hates animated movies, loves them and can quote Donkey’s lines 🙂

ll

Leave a comment

Filed under 90s, Eels, Movies, Rock, Shrek

Leave a Reply

