Homesick: “84,000 Different Delusions”- Shawn Colvin and “Fields of Gold”- Sting

I love college. It is the one place I have ever felt accepted for just being myself. While high school was horrible, and I was ostrizisted for being weird, not having the right clothes, not being attractive enough, or (my favorite) “too smart,” my friends here love me for who I am. Thus, my college is my home. I feel comfortable, happy (for the most part), and embraced. But recently I have felt “homesick” for the first time since coming to college three plus years ago. It is just a fleeting feeling, normally when I am listening to music late at night while studying. But it is strong. This desire to be curled up in my family’s living room listening to music with my father with a crackling blaze in the fireplace. To have nothing to do besides talk and laugh and reconnect.

I know I should probably stop listening to music that makes me miss my family so much, but I am really enjoying re-listening to some of my childhood favorites. Here are two that I have recently fell in love with all over again, even though they make me yearn to curl up in a blanket surrounded by my family.

Sorry for the downer post. In happier news, my parents will hopefully be visiting me in a few weeks.

Do you ever feel “homesick” for your family? Please say it is not only me.

ll

3 Comments

Filed under "Oldies", Folk, Jazz, New Age, Pop, Shawn Colvin, Sting

3 responses to “Homesick: “84,000 Different Delusions”- Shawn Colvin and “Fields of Gold”- Sting

  1. I hope I didn’t contribute to this with my photo-heavy portrayal of the fair:(

    I finally no longer feel homesick. I’ve built my own home life, and while I miss my parents, I love what I’ve created for myself. When I lived in France my homesickness was overpowering, which struck me as unfair, since I was in practically the coolest place ever. Lame, I know.

Leave a Reply

