“Passenger”- Deftones

Most of my recent posts have been quieter, relaxing music. And although I love everything I have posted, I feel like it is time to feature a “harder-edged” song.

Deftones is another band I found after I feel in love with Nine Inch Nails. It is billed as a “alternative metal” or “experimental rock” group, so some of their songs sound industrial in nature. “Passenger” is one of their songs from the White Pony album, released in 2000 and the most recent album that I have of theirs. Thus, I need to get their more recent albums.

Their latest Album: Diamond Eyes

“Passenger” is probably not my favorite Deftones song but I was really into it tonight. The whole premise of the song is that you do not have control over your life. Set in a car, the narrator can ask for things like to “roll down the windows” or to “drive faster;” however, he is still going to be a passenger. I feel like all of us feel like a passenger some time in our lives. Right now, I am at the whims of my professors…who all thought it was a good idea to schedule a paper and/or exam for this week. I also sometimes feel at the whims of my weird emotions. Like being homesick, or not feeling good about myself. I don’t know why I feel bad/ashamed/not confident about myself sometimes, and hopefully these are just moments of self-insecurity that will pass. I hate not being in the driver’s seat, especially when it comes to my own thoughts and emotions.

Favorite part of the song is probably how the hard-core drums and guitars fade into a few solitary notes of sweet piano.

Cures for self-insecurities that you would like to share?

ll

3 Comments

Filed under Deftones, Experimental, Metal, Rock

3 responses to ““Passenger”- Deftones

  1. I’ve never listened to Deftones before, I honestly had no clue what their genre was. The horse was misleading, I think.

    I spent both Friday and Sunday driving a van of young college kids to and from a camping excursion that was around 9 hours away. I began to long for metal in such a bad way during those endless hours of driving (no cd player). I like country, and I can handle most classic rock, but nothing makes me drive happier than some Megadeth, turned up to 11;)

  2. I don’t usually go for hard-edged songs. They tend to make my heart race and my mood gets kind of funky. I usually listen to broadway musical songs or Christian praise songs.

    Hope you survive this week okay! It’s soon-to-be mid-exam season for me too.

Leave a Reply

