“Pumped Up Kicks”-Foster the People

This fall break week has been catch-up week—for homework but more importantly for missed tv shows. One of the shows I occasionally watch if I actually know the host is Saturday Night Live. Ever since Tina Fey left, it has not been as good but it still has some good skits every episode. But more importantly, they normally have some really good guest artists. Foster the People was the music guest for one of the episodes I watched. I had never even heard of this band before but apparently they are from Los Angeles and released their first album Torches in May. Now, Pumped up Kicks is third on the Billboard’s Hot 100 just under “Someone Like You” by Adele and “Moves Like Jagger” by Maroon 5.

Foster the People: Mark Pontius, Cubbie Fink, and Mark Foster

Although “Pumped up Kicks” is a great song, I have a feeling people don’t really understand the meaning behind it. Sure, the beat and chorus is catchy but lets analyze the lyrics a bit.

He’s a cowboy kid
Yeah, he found a six-shooter gun
In his dad’s closet hidden in a box of fun things
And I don’t even know what
But he’s coming for you, yeah, he’s coming for you

All the other kids with the pumped up kicks 
You’d better run, better run, outrun my gun

Yes, the song is about a a kid and his downward spiral towards homicidal tendencies. As Mark Foster, the group’s frontman, states in an interview, he wanted to know “what would it be like to be inside of a kid’s head that’s a teenager and is basically losing his mind.” It is a interesting idea for a song and the happy feel of the song even adds to the character’s insanity. But I hope the audience understand the meaning behind the song and doesn’t just blindly sing it, or worst think the band is advocating said behavior. I can’t help comparing this song to NIN “Closer” since they were/are both popular but the audience didn’t really understand the extremely dark undertones of both songs.

All in all though, I am really excited to see what Foster the People are going to do next. In their first effort, they have created a popular, controversial, and dark song. I have high hopes for the band.

Heard of this song or anything else by Foster the People? If not, do you watch SNL?

ll

5 Comments

Filed under Foster The People, Indie, Pop, Rock

5 responses to ““Pumped Up Kicks”-Foster the People

  1. Thanks for leaving a comment to my blog….it is always so lovely to meet new people in ED community and getting to know each other! I love the support we get from each other….

    Anyway, I look forward following your blog. Even though I am Deaf, I love music and lyrics. Music has a beautiful way of explaining things and putting words to how we all feel.

    I agree; It has not been SAME since Fey left the show, and….don’t get me wrong; SNL is still funny but kind of strange to see new faces or lack of old faces on the show.

    As for Foster people, nope I haven’t really heard of them until…now… 🙂

    Hope to hear from you from time to time! XX

  2. Sara Grambusch

    I’m not a huge fan of Pumped Up Kicks. I like the beat but the lyrics are kind of annoying to me. I had no idea they were so attractive though 🙂

  3. Dominica

    Mark P. is so beautiful ❤ ❤ amazing !

Leave a Reply

