“Tighten Up”- The Black Keys and an life update

I AM BACK!!!

Sorry for the break from posts (and basically from all things related to blogging). Lets just say the last weeks of the semester were stressful. But finals are done and I ended up passing all my classes, including Physical Chemistry. But the most amazing news is that I got into graduate school!!! For you that follow my blog regularly or actually know me in real life, I finally got word today that I am accepted into a great MD/PhD program. Basically this means that next year, I will be embarking on a 8 year journey to obtain a doctor of medicine and biochemistry. Crazy? Well yes. But I am so excited!!

Okay, so enough with the update about my life. Back to the music!! And boy do I have some music I want to share. My parents decided to put in a surround sound stereo system in the basement right after my brother and I left for college. How nice of them. Though, it does mean that I have basically been living downstairs listening to music very loudly.

I thought I would start out with a group that I have just recently “discovered.” The Black Keys have been around for a while (since 2001), but really became mainstream after their 2010 Brothers Album was considered one of the best albums of the year. “Tighten Up” is from Brothers and it is amazing. Dan Auerbach’s voice coupled with Patrick Carney’s percussion and both on the guitar produces this sound that is uniquely The Black Keys.

Not the most visual exciting album cover, but one of the best I have seen. The tongue-in-cheek-ness of this cover just highlights the quirkiness of the groups music.

Although the song is addicting by itself, the music video makes it even better. The actors that they got to play Dan and Patrick’s sons were great. And the parallel actions of the grow adults and the children almost had me crying in laughter. From Patrick and his son giving the bird, Dan and his son swearing in disbelieve, and the girl and her mother coquettishly playing with their hair, it was a great visual for the lyrics of the song.

And maybe it is just me and my love of nerdy guys talking, but does anyone think Dan and Patrick are sort of geekily hot?

Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney's poster for their SNL performance

 

ll

2 Comments

Filed under Alternative, Rock, The Black Keys

2 responses to ““Tighten Up”- The Black Keys and an life update

  1. Congratulations !!!

    I know how good it feels to be accepted into graduate school, good work:)

    I love the albums that I have by The Black Keys, but for some reason, I just haven’t bought this one yet. I’m a bit behind. Great music video though – it’s hilarious:P

Leave a Reply

